Wine review: Monsters Attack Riesling

How cool is this label? Cool as hell! This is an off-dry (which means it’s slightly sweet) Aussie Riesling from the Clare Valley in South Australia. Definitely sweeter than the bone dry Rieslings Australia is famous for, but it’s not a bad thing. Its has a lovely light lemon zest flavour and refreshing minerality with enough acidity to take on that sweetness. Basically, if you were so inclined, it would be a fairly easy task to ‘neck it’. If you like Lemon Sorbet, you’ll like this.

I drank it alongside some spicy Malaysian food and it was great.  Then I just kept drinking.  I have to admit later on in the evening I did find it a little sweet but it is forgiven because it looks so cool. But did I mention how cool the label is? I’m guilty, I don’t mean to choose wines by the label but I like good looking things, and this is as good looking as wine labels get! The label was designed by Asaf Hanuka and part of his some young punks ‘Trixie and Tessa’ series. Hot women starring in comic adventures battling squids, ninjas and of course monsters.

some young punks – badass website.  I would love to get my hands on a bottle of ‘Naked on Roller Skates”…sounds like fun. We blame the booze too x

£17 from Highbury Vinters

A sneak peek at Asaf Hanuka’s other comic inspired labels.
One thought on “Wine review: Monsters Attack Riesling

  1. Very cool label designs indeed. These would definitely stand out from most other bottles on our wine shelves so I may just keep an eye out for one of these.

Leave a Reply

